

Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on Friday 2 May 2025 at The Venue, Bishop Grosseteste University, Lincoln

Apologies

Sue Archer, Helen Hancocks, Ben Reynolds

Present

Committee: David Brook, Tony Butcher, Sue Firth, Richard Hall, John Rossington, Philip

Stonehouse

<u>Trustee</u>: Ivor Davey

<u>Members</u>: Val Sargent, Whiz Collis, Barbara Miller, Ray Longmore, Linda Hall, Margaret Hatfield, Maureen, Geddis, Paul Frodsham, Chris Sear, Richard, Sear, Judith Ditlef-Nielsen, Anne Powell, Clare Hanna, Shirley Wilce, Fiona Wallace, Ann Hipkin, Fiona Proctor, Cathryn Hall, Pavlos Zafeiris, Sarah Rose, Sue Perkins, Keith Perkins, Lynda Bickley, Roger Bickley

Minutes of 2024 AGM

The minutes of the AGM held on 22 March 2024 were signed as a true record.

Matters Arising

Linda Hall queried whether consideration had been given to sub-titles on English language films. It was agreed that the committee would consider these on a film by film basis.

Officers & Trustees Reports

Richard Hall (RH) referred the meeting to the Officers' Reports filed with the meetings papers. He said the key points he wanted to highlight were, firstly, the fact that Sue Firth (SF) and Tony Butcher (TB) were standing down as joint secretary which would create a vacancy on the committee; then to remind members that former secretary Jonathan Killin had sadly died last summer; thirdly that Les Dicker was standing down from the post of trustee. He wanted to thank all these individuals for the work they had undertaken on a voluntary basis for the Society. He assured members that there is a written continuity plan in place which addresses the issue of volunteers stepping down, so there should be no impact on the operation of the Society.

John Rossington (JR) commented on the accounts to May 2024, saying that the first full season back at the Venue after Covid had been a success. It had been feared that member numbers would not be as high as in pre-Covid times so the membership fee had been set to cover costs accordingly. As it happened over 300 people had joined, creating an operating surplus of £3,800. A surplus would also be made on the season just ended, though not as much because costs have increased – the Society is now required to pay separately for the bar which had previously been included in the hire costs. RH pointed out that committee members can claim reimbursement for money spent on behalf of the Society, but not everyone does, for which he thanked them. JR also gave thanks to Ivor Davey (ID) for checking the financial records in his role as trustee.

Tony Butcher (TB) added to the secretary's report by saying that the averages for attendance and approval ratings quoted had only been for the first 12 films. The final two films had not changed the average but it was interesting to note that the penultimate film, Radical – which had been a replacement film when an original choice was not available – had scored the highest approval rating for a number of years, with 94%

The meeting was then opened up to the members for questions and discussion. Margaret Hatfield said she couldn't criticise anything done by the Society and felt lucky and grateful to have it. Maureen Geddis echoed this and commented on the wonderful and varied films on offer. Ray Longmore (RL) also commented on the professionalism and superb film selection.

RL enquired how secure the Society was with being able to use The Venue. TB said the Partnership Working Agreement with The Venue is reviewed annually and the Society is at the mercy of operations within the university. As money was spent by them in improving the equipment it is to be hoped that they will want to continue the relationship for years to come.

Cathryn Hall asked if there were plans to increase the number of screenings in a season. RH said there wouldn't be a return to the 26-film seasons but there might be the possibility of increasing to 16. He pointed out that four extra films are shown at the Terry O'Toole Theatre during the summer, but conceded that audience numbers were restricted due to the size of that auditorium. TB explained that, previously, The Venue was run as a separate business so the staff present on screening nights were there as part of their job. Now the staff who run the screenings have other jobs within the university and are given time off in lieu from their day job when they attend on a Friday, which limits how often they can be available.

RL asked for some clarification about members joining part way through a season. RH explained that this option was offered in the first year back at the Venue because original member numbers were below 300, but for the 2024/25 season 330 members signed up from the start. The Venue only holds 230 people so there has to be a balance to ensure that, although not every members attends every screening, there are enough seats for members who do attend.

New Committee Members & Trustees

The Society had put out an appeal to see if anyone wanted to join the committee or become a trustee, and two members had come forward to become trustees – Paul Frodsham and Ray Longmore. Linda Hall proposed and Val Sargent seconded the appointment of them as trustees and the meeting voted unanimously in favour.

RH then said that Pavlos Zafeiris had enquired about joining the committee and it was agreed he would meet with RH to discuss what was involved with a view to being co-opted onto the committee.

Election of Officers

Whiz Collis proposed and Maureen Geddis seconded the re-election of Richard Hall as chair and the members voted unanimously in favour.

Ivor Davey proposed and David Brook seconded the re-election of John Rossington as treasurer and the members voted unanimously in favour.

RH then reminded the meeting that SF and TB did not want to stand for re-election as joint secretary. No one has yet come forward who is willing to take on the role so it was left vacant.

Election of Committee

Ivor Davey proposed and Linda Hall seconded the re-election of the existing committee en bloc. TB pointed out that only two members of the committee (David Brook and Philip Stonehouse) were present and queried whether the absent members of the current committee (Sue Archer, Geraldine Roy, Ben Reynolds and Helen Hancocks) had expressed willingness to be reappointed. This would need to be in writing to make it valid. DB was able to produce an email chain which addressed this issue for everyone except HH. The meeting voted unanimously in favour of reappointing the committee and it was agreed that HH could be co-opted after the meeting.

Any Other Business

None.

The meeting closed at 10.00pm